RSS

9:zero:7, bringing a bit of Alaska to Perth

03 Feb

Finally my beautiful Carver O’Beast fork arrived from the USA, so did a small amount of assembly. At this point the frame/fork/stem/bars feels light. Of course the heaviest component is to come…. the wheelset.

9:zero:7 and o'beast

After much deliberation I decided to get a Large Marge Light wheelset built by Bikeman.com – I thought about ordering the parts and doing the build myself but it turned out that the Bikeman price for a custom built wheel is highly competitive.

I’ve also got some RaceFace turbine fatbike cranks on their way – I got the red ones because they were the only ones in stock that were 170mm and they look pretty cool. Not sure how they are going to go with the orange frame, but I think they’ll be OK. People aren’t going to look much past the 4 inches of rubber anyway.

At this stage I’m aiming to have the build finished by the start of March, just in time for it to start cooling down and the beach crowds to start thinning out.

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
