RSS

Ride to Work Day – 17 October

04 Oct

It is ride to work day on the 17 October 2012. Go here to sign up for your free breakfast!

I don’t know if anyone is interested in the minutiae of how various office workers commute to work by bike, but sometimes I just roll my eyes at the excuses people come out with.

“But my shirts will get wrinkles”
“There are no shower facilities or lockers at my workplace”
“It’s too far”
“It’s too much hassle to get organised in the morning”

I have been commuting by bike to work for the majority of my 15 year working life. The circumstances, jobs and distances have changed. At the moment I have the following advantages:

Secure bike cage to leave my precious bicycle.
A beautiful longer route to work (15.7kms one way), or a shorter route (8.7km) both of which are on bike paths which are separated from motor vehicles, but shared with pedestrians.
A flat commute where the only hills are ramps up to bridges.
Flexi-time, so I do not have to arrive or leave from work at a set time – hence I can wait until the rain blows over, within reason.
A city with a beautiful, and mostly mild climate.

I have the following disadvantages:

Showers and lockers are inconvenient to access as they involve climbing up and down a couple of sets of stairs. Lockers are controlled via a system that I don’t quite understand.
I am not a morning person, so any kind of variation in routine means that I’m likely to forget something.

So what do I do?

I put my office gear in my pannier bag the night before – I roll my shirt and pants and they usually come out looking fine. I also chuck my wallet, access card and whatever else I will need that day in there.

In the morning I tumble out of bed, eat toast and drink coffee, pull on some regular, but sporty clothes and trundle in to work.

I don’t bother with showers. I don’t think it’s necessary. In summer I will use some sports-oriented deodorant, but otherwise I just get to work, carry my pannier into the disabled toilet on my floor, it takes me about 10 minutes to get changed, and I’m ready for work.

Most people don’t even realise I ride to work every day unless they happen to see me in the bike cage in the basement.

So put away the excuses and get on your bike. Free breakfast is worth it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2012 in Bike Parking, Commuting

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Ride to Work Day – 17 October

  1. Zig

    October 10, 2012 at 9:11 am

    Ok, I’m going to give it a go tomorrow – no more putting it off! Unfortunately a lot of the route is on busy roads and Brisbane motorists seem pretty aggro towards cyclists. Guess I’ll just have to be extra careful. Maybe I can find a cycle buddy at the same level as me to ride to work with so the traffic doesn’t seem so intimidating.

     
    • perthcyclist

      October 10, 2012 at 10:16 am

      Hi Zig! Try google maps for cycling directions, there might be some nice back streets to use.

      Don’t worry about ‘Brisbane drivers’. I cycled to work regularly in bogan-central Kalgoorlie and only ever had one run in with a motorist, which may have been partially inflamed by my reaction when he cut it a bit fine, pulling out in front of me, and then missing a gear or something… anyway Brisbane might not be as bad as you think. Don’t read all those cycling forum posts about ‘moron motorists’ etc – and don’t believe what people say, you have to go out and experience it for yourself. Perth and Brisbane are both boom towns with similar driver mentalities and I hardly ever have issues on the road here. If you believed cycling forums were representative all cyclists are constantly being verbally abused and cut up. That doesn’t reflect reality IMO.

       

Leave a Reply

 
