RSS

Ride to Conquer Cancer: Weekend Ride & Fundraising Update

12 Sep

As I am typing this, my fundraising total has reached $2,266.66. My goal is $2,500 for the WA Institute for Medical Research. They are doing some groundbreaking cancer research which this ride is going to provide a great funding boost towards.

A big boost came this week when we were given a bar fridge to raffle off. In three days $200 worth of tickets were sold.

If you want to get aboard the fundraising train and help me get the last little bit then go here to donate some moola.

My weekend ride update is a bit late because I have been having internet issues at home, but I did a 68 kilometre ride via the South Perth foreshore, the freeway South path, Roe Hwy, Railway Parade, and then along the Swan River past Maylands. It was 29 degrees, which is pretty warm, actually it was the warmest September day in 120 years.

The path along the freeway has been subject to detours for months now, as there is a bit of development happening down around Murdoch. The Fiona Stanley hospital is coming along nicely, though I wonder about the design – I think it’s going to date quite badly. There are a few ‘iconic’ big capital works buildings in WA that have made these bold design statements – the Perth Convention and Exhibition centre came under a lot of criticism for it’s resemblance to a giant Colourbond steel shed. Perth residents seem to have just stopped whining about it, perhaps because it’s position as ‘most loathed building’ has been taken over by the new Perth Arena. The whinging has been going on for years and the building isn’t even open yet.

Back to the riding, I had to stop for a bit at the lakes in Maylands because I was getting a calf cramp. A symptom of the unseasonably warm weather and the fact that I had run out of my usual hydrating GU Brew and was just on plain water for the ride. I haven’t had a cramp for ages and it disappeared quickly, but gave me a chance to take another bike + water photo. These lakes were pits where the nearby brickworks sourced their clay.

All in all it was a good ride, but I really wanted to wag work this week and ride some more. I think now I understand how surfers feel when they skip out on work when the waves are good.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2012 in Charity Rides

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Ride to Conquer Cancer: Weekend Ride & Fundraising Update

  1. Nurse Frugal

    September 12, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    That sounds like my husband sometimes…..when the waves are really good a day off might be in order

     
    • perthcyclist

      September 12, 2012 at 11:55 pm

      I’m kind of glad I didn’t take up surfing – I already have enough reasons to want out of the office! šŸ˜‰ and now the shark experts are all saying you should only surf between 10 and 2 šŸ˜› a few people have been chomped lately :(((

       
      • Nurse Frugal

        September 15, 2012 at 9:00 pm

        Getting chomped is not on my bucket list ;(

         

Leave a Reply

 
