RSS

User Review: Swisstop Pro Green Brake Pads

11 Sep

In the review I wrote about my second hand Schwinn Le Tour Sport, I complained about the cheap, crappy Tektro RL348 brakeset that it came with. The pads were dissolving in the wet and leaving black film all over my nice white bike.

Swisstop Green

I decided to get the most revered (and most expensive) brake pads from Wiggle Online Cycle Shop and see how I went.

They were really easy to install, and have clear labelling so you can tell which way they are meant to be facing. They looked quite nice on the bike too, they aren’t a really bright green and they fit in quite well with the white theme. I like the silver, it looks clean and nicer than bog standard black pads. Most people wouldn’t notice that they are anything special though.

I have now done 500 kilometres on these brake pads and they have made a world of difference to stopping power and modulation on the Schwinn. There seems to be no performance difference between wet and dry conditions and they don’t leave any dirty residue on the rims of the bike.

They are not the cheapest option, but I am very happy with them, and next time I will just have to buy the refills so they will be a bit cheaper.

Just a quick note: this blog is now a Wiggle affiliate. If you enjoy my blog and need some cycling gear, please visit Wiggle via links on this blog, and I will get a small commission.



I can vouch for Wiggle personally, as I have been ordering things from them for at least 3 years. Somehow they can get a package half way across the world from the UK to Australia in less than 5 working days. It takes longer than that to get products from Melbourne and Sydney based online bike shops.

Of course I am a great supporter of going to your LBS (Local Bike Shop), but when you are in small town Perth, sometimes the local bike shop just doesn’t cut it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2012 in Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “User Review: Swisstop Pro Green Brake Pads

  1. aushiker

    September 22, 2012 at 2:46 am

    Will be interesting to see how they wear over the longer term. Please do update down the road.

     
    • perthcyclist

      September 25, 2012 at 3:38 am

      yes, will do, probably next year sometime.

       

Leave a Reply

 
