RSS

Perth Ride to Conquer Cancer: Weekend training rides

26 Aug

On Saturday I rode from Bayswater, to Scarborough via the city, then to North Fremantle down the coast, and back to Bayswater via the train line. Usually when I ride to Scarborough, I cut across various suburbs to the freeway, coming out near Cedric Street, then ride along Cedric, Beatrice and a few other streets to get to the coast.

Scarborough Beach

This time I decided to ride into the city, then follow the Mitchell Freeway path up to Cedric street, and I have to say, it was much more pleasant than riding the backstreets. It may also have been a good way to ride to Leederville the other night!

The only thing that might be hard is finding where the freeway North path actually starts! It had been a long time, but I picked up the path near the corner of Aberdeen Street and Fitzgerald Street.

Trying to get to the beach, I ended up riding a 200 metre stretch of Sackville Terrace which was 12.9% grade, according to Strava. I scored a Queen of the Mountain, but it seems I am the only female who has used Strava while cycling up that nasty little kicker!

It was a 70 kilometre day all up and it was a lot warmer than it has been lately, at 24 degrees Celsius. It took it out of me a bit, so I went to bed early. I missed some Saturday night alcohol fuelled shenanigans though.

On Sunday I went for a ride out to Bell’s Rapids via West Swan Road.

Brigadoon - a different horse

It’s always nice to go out that way, though it feels like a bit of a cop out to stick to the Swan Valley and not do any hill climbing!

Maali Bridge Park

I saw a kayaker hanging out near the Maali Park Bridge, on the way up to Bells. I saw him again in Guildford on the way back.

Bells - Sitella

There was a bit of water at Bells Rapids, but not a lot. It didn’t stop the hoards arriving, not long after I did. There were big groups of hikers heading off, and a few cars arrived with kayaks on top.

My Bike at Bells

It was a 54 kilometre day and I feel like my legs pulled up pretty well. At this point I feel like the 2 x 100km+ days in October will certainly be doable.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2012 in Charity Rides

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Perth Ride to Conquer Cancer: Weekend training rides

  1. Nurse Frugal

    August 29, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    Cool pictures from your ride! Do you ever use the GoPro when you ride?

     
    • perthcyclist

      August 30, 2012 at 11:08 am

      I was meaning to use it! unfortunately the SD card that I had in it was faulty and wouldn’t work. :((

       
      • Nurse Frugal

        September 4, 2012 at 6:02 pm

        booooo, next time!

         

Leave a Reply

 
