RSS

Subliminal Messages through Lego

22 Aug

Maybe I’m being sensitive here, and no doubt most people will have trouble seeing what I am on about, but it’s my blog so I am going to go off on my rant anyway.

I was browsing Fishpond for Lego toys when I came across something disturbing. For those who are not familiar with Fishpond, it’s like an Australian/New Zealand version of Amazon which stocks everything from books to toys to bicycles.

Anyway the first ‘Lego’ Ambulance product picture I saw was what created such an impression.

Playmobil Ambulance

As you can see – if you squint, sorry about the size, the display picture on a children’s toy depicts a bicycle rider as a ‘patient’ for the ambulance. To me that screams bicycles = dangerous. It probably wasn’t deliberate, just a visual representation of the deep-set safety obsession that we have these days. It’s a pity the patient isn’t an obese lego person having a heart attack, but I haven’t seen any overweight lego mini figures lately. Perhaps that is an idea for Lego, to reflect the changing body shapes of people in various Western countries?

Lego Ambulance

For some reason the Lego ambulance also comes with a bicycle, but the display box is not anywhere nearly as disturbing. It does appear that the patient was on the bicycle and is now sitting on the road. The Lego version also has a helmet included.

For some more ACTUAL bike related content, there is an awesome sidehack. Pity it hasn’t been available like, ever. They sell them at Walmart in the USA so I’m sure they aren’t the Rolls Royce of bikes, but how sweet would it be to give your mates a ride, or carry a carton with?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2012 in Offbeat

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Subliminal Messages through Lego

  1. velorichard

    August 23, 2012 at 10:46 am

    My daughter has the playmobil ambulance picture top. When I first saw it I had similar feelings to yours. However, watching her play with it the ambulance is only ever used for delivering babies. So the subliminal message has at least failed here. Still unfortunate though, but I guess a fat, wheezing figure having a heart-attack is harder to portray on the packaging…

     
    • perthcyclist

      August 23, 2012 at 11:06 am

      That is encouraging! I guess kids don’t look at the box 😉 and re: the heart attack minifigure, I dunno, I think it could have a grey head and a curved upper body?

       
  2. Nurse Frugal

    August 25, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    What a great point! I think that they are trying to teach children that riding bikes is dangerous when that isn’t the case. I think it’s about time they start puffing up the size of the legos to make them more realistic, at least over here in the US.

     
    • perthcyclist

      August 28, 2012 at 1:17 am

      And in Aus! I think we have overtaken the US in the overweight/obese stakes 😛 it’s a sad sad thing…

       
      • Nurse Frugal

        August 29, 2012 at 11:21 pm

        really???? I’m pretty surprised to hear that, I always thought of Australia as an active country with surf, hiking and all the fun stuff you can do outside!

         
      • perthcyclist

        August 31, 2012 at 2:27 am

        hah just because it’s there doesn’t mean people take advantage of it… and we are just as wedded to cars, office chairs and fast food! We had a government ‘health’ campaign a while ago that pleaded with the populace to ‘find 30’ – 30 minutes of walking, which is cululative (ie can do 10 minutes here and 10 minutes there). It is mind boggling for me that some (or a lot) people don’t even walk 30 minutes a day.

         

Leave a Reply

 
