RSS

Reasons to Ride: Scaling Down

02 Aug

When you are on a bike, you aren’t insulated from the city you are travelling through. You have great vision with no windows or pillars in the way. You are travelling more slowly so details jump out at you. I took a little time to document my ride home so that you may share the riches I enjoy on my way home every day.

Image

You might hear, and then see a powerboat on the calm waters of the Swan, practicing for the upcoming Avon Descent race. The sun sets on the city in the background.

Image

I  quite enjoyed this small, and somewhat sloppy bicycle stencil on a wall between two principle shared paths.

Image

Upon seeing this very small stencil, you may break into a rendition of ‘C is for Cookie, that’s good enough for me, C is for Cookie, that’s good enough for me, C is for Cookie, that’s good enough for me, Cookie Cookie Cookie starts with C!”

Image

This red dog stencil looks a little like the iconic ‘dingo flour’ sign on a big old building down near Fremantle. I am not sure if the resemblance was deliberate, but it’s more food for thought as you pedal along.

Image

The sun will continue on it’s journey below the horizon as you continue on your journey home. The pink and orange hues reflect off the calm, glassy water.

Image

Humpty dumpty threatens to fall and break all over my bike… but you would never spot him from the road, or the train.

Image

Sometimes you find small signs that humans are in general good creatures. I hope the owner of the computer/heart rate monitor sees this sign before it rains again!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 2, 2012 in Commuting, Reasons to Ride

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Reasons to Ride: Scaling Down

  1. Nurse Frugal

    August 3, 2012 at 3:48 am

    Love those pictures!!! It’s so true, my husband always reminds me that it’s so different to see things on a bike then driving or any other means. It’s great exercise and you get to see the small things too 😉 Love that picture of the water 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
