RSS

Training: Perth Ride to Conquer Cancer

09 Jun

At the start of the month, I undertook to get 1000 kilometres under my wheels for the 30 days of June.

As there was a bit of rain around this week, I just did my standard short commute every workday, but I have kept up with a few big weekend rides. I have been logging kilometres into bikejournal, and have been using Strava for new or long rides.

Image

Today, I did 58.8 kilometres to Fremantle and back, eating lunch at the ‘Beach Cafe’. The weather man had forecast an measly 5% chance of rain, as opposed to tomorrow which was a 90% chance of rain. On the way back, we saw that someone had applied this charming penny farthing stencil to the bike path which runs along the coast.

Penny Farthing Stencil

Penny Farthing Stencil, Shared Path, Fremantle

Last weekend was the ‘WA Day’ long weekend, which gave me an extra day to put in some kilometres. I haven’t ridden a century for over 12 months, so I decided to ride south towards Mandurah until my odometer clicked over 50 kilometres, then turn around and ride back. I ended up going into a suburb down near Baldivis and eating a museli bar for lunch in their neighbourhood park.

Strava screen dump

My first century in 12 months, as recorded by Strava.

I also banged out a 60 kilometre Freeway-Roe Highway-Railway Parade loop on the Saturday, and I slept very soundly that working week. I didn’t fall asleep at my desk, honestly, I didn’t.

Anyway, without the long weekend this week I am going to have to extend my weekday rides next week. If you would like to help with my motivation, please visit my profile and donate some money towards my Ride to Conquer Cancer in October.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 9, 2012 in Charity Rides

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Training: Perth Ride to Conquer Cancer

  1. Dr James Stratford

    June 9, 2012 at 9:28 am

    1000 km for the month is a good target indeed. It’s pretty challenging getting that level of consistency. I frequently find injury or illness breaks a promising streak. Congratulations on raising the first $1000 for cancer – really awesome and I wish you all the best for your training and fundraising efforts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
