RSS

Cause for Celebration: Another Xtracycle

12 Nov

OK, I didn’t get photos, but for the first time today I spotted another Xtra in the hood. This makes me happy. There are a few cargo beasties I see around the CBD, like the longtail that parks in front of the building next to mine around 3 days a week. There was an xtracycle that occasionally was heading out of the city in the mornings when I was heading in…. but I haven’t seen him for ages.

The next SQUEE will be reserved for a bakfiets. If I ever see one I will accost the rider just to tell them how awesome they are. Very out of character for me, but I don’t think I could contain myself…..

xtracycle and shopping trolley

The Shopping Trolley

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2011 in cargo bike

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Cause for Celebration: Another Xtracycle

  1. Andy in Germany

    November 14, 2011 at 8:37 am

    It is nice to know you aren’t alone. I’ve found other Bakfiets users locally, but no other Xtracycles which is a surprise with all our hills: Bakfietsen are great, but heavy…

     
    • perthcyclist

      November 15, 2011 at 3:13 am

      it is, and I get excited to see other cargo bikes because of what they represent – people using bikes to haul things they would usually use a car for…. I tend to get approached by random people frequently when I bring my Xtra into the city – I still hand out the promo cards that xtracycle sent with my free radical ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  2. farhat

    February 2, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    hi
    we’re considering moving to Perth from the UK and Amsterdam (hubby works abroad) we have a bakfiets long cargo and a work cycles FR8. the bakfiets has 8 gears and the FR8. could you offer us some advice as we’ve never been to Perth before. We are hoping we can be a 1 car rather than a 2 car family and make the most of your weather by cycling as first choice of transport. Would we need to get our bakfiets to have electrical assist or is it feasible to get around perth – we have a heavy 5 year old and 2 year old who are carried in the bakfiets. Also, would we get away with 3 gears on the FR8 or should we get it converted to 8 gears? Amsterdam is very flat so we’ve only needed 3 gears till now.

    thanks

    farhat

     
    • perthcyclist

      February 2, 2012 at 1:44 pm

      Hi Farhat,

      From what I’ve seen in the Netherlands (I’ve been to Utrecht and Amsterdam), yes Perth has more hills that you would encounter getting around. We also have some ripping winds which you will be used to from being in the Netherlands. The hills are not huge, and they are usually pretty short and sharp too, but I would want 8 gears on the FR8. Electric assist on the bakfiets may make your life easier, especially on really hot days in summer. We just came out of a week of 38 deg celsius + temperatures. The heat will be a bit to adjust to I think.

      Really it depends what suburb you choose to live in as some are flatter than others, the coastal suburbs have some nasty hills, whereas suburbs along the river tend to have less.

       
  3. farhat

    May 13, 2012 at 9:32 am

    thanks for your answer – i think we’re going to sell our bakfiets (either in the UK or Perth) and upgrade our FR8 to 8 gears. I’m going to get a e bakfiets for perth – if i try to retro fit one it isn’t guaranteed.

    hope to cycle past you ๐Ÿ˜‰

     

Leave a Reply

 
