RSS

Perth Cycling Infrastructure: Kwinana Freeway Bike Path

29 Aug
horses on the psp

We met these girls on horses just North of Lakes Road

The Kwinana Freeway path is wide, smooth and straight, once you get out of the busy, narrow, bumpy areas near Como. It has been a while since I have been down there, but I can’t wait to have a go at it on my roadie. Last time we did the ride was around Easter, and we came across these girls on their horses wearing bunny ears. I saw them and struggled to figure out what they were…. they didn’t look like cyclists, and it would be a mad pedestrian to be out here in the middle of nowhere. I pulled my camera out of my jersey pocket, and they smiled and waved as I rolled past snapping some photos.

The other thing that makes the Kwinana Freeway bike path a good training ground for me is that there is an inbuilt sag wagon…. as the train line runs parallel to the Freeway & the path for the majority of it’s length.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 29, 2011 in Perth Cycling Infrastructure

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Perth Cycling Infrastructure: Kwinana Freeway Bike Path

  1. Velophile Australia

    March 9, 2013 at 12:18 pm

    Agree. I cycled from South Perth to Mandurah a few weeks ago. It was great, although a little boring and confusing at some sections due to the road works. Being able to call it a day and jump on the train is a really nice backup option. 🙂

    Karl

     

Leave a Reply

 
